There is no sport that you may say is predictable. However, when you have a more in-depth look at football and mainly European leagues, you will find out that this is Premier League standing out of all competitions. The best proof? Only one time has remained English championship for two years in a row during the last decade.

Although some people can say there are only a few clubs that play for the highest prize, no one knows which team will celebrate the succeed at the end of the season. It is also indicated by the number of footballers who won the Premier League with more than just one club – only 10.

Ashley Cole – Arsenal and Chelsea

Ashley Cole decided to end his career lately, but there is no doubt that he was one of the best-left defenders in recent years in Premier League. He made his debut in Arsenal on November 30, 1999, in an English League Cup match against Middlesbrough. Together with Arsenal, he became the English champion twice.

Along with Chelsea, he became the English champion once in 2010.  In the 2007/2008 season, he reached the final of the Champions League with the London club (Chelsea lost to Manchester United) – he appeared in it in the first line-up, and he scored a goal in the penalty shootout.

Four years later (2012) together with his team won the Champions League – in the final match against Bayern Munich he played again in the first team and he scored a goal in the penalty shootout just like five years earlier.

Nicolas Anelka – Arsenal and Chelsea

Anelka began his career at Paris Saint-Germain but soon moved to Arsenal, where he became the primary player, after which in 1999 he won the prize for the best young player playing in England. He made his debut in the Premier League on April 5, when he played in a 3-0 victory over a local rival – Chelsea.

The following season, the Frenchman became the primary player of the Gunners and together with his teammates became the national champion and won the FA Cup. On January 11, 2008, Anelka moved to Chelsea for 15 million pounds. The Frenchman debuted the next day in the match against Tottenham Hotspur. Anelka won his second Premier League championship in 2009/2010 season.

Carlos Tevez – Manchester United and Manchester City

Tévez grew up in a gang-dominated poor district of Fuerte Apache in the suburbs of Buenos Aires. He often changed clubs throughout his career. He played, among others for Corinthians, West Ham United and Juventus. However, his greatest successes were playing in teams of two local rivals – Manchester City and Manchester United.

He won the Premier League twice with the red devils – in 2008 and 2009, while with the citizens in 2012. Tevez could never be denied his skills once he was in good shape and physical condition. Often, however, this was not the case, so we can say that he did not use his full potential.

Gael Clichy – Arsenal and Manchester City

The French footballer born in Toulouse won Premier League three times playing for two different teams. For the first time, he could celebrate the success with Arsenal in 2004, although he did not play an essential role for a team back then.

He spent eight years in London, but it was after a leave of Ashley Cole when Gael became a significant player in the Arsenal’s line-up. He moved to Manchester City in 2011 and for almost six years played the first role in the defence. With Manchester City, he won Premier League twice- in 2012 and 2014.

N’Golo Kante – Leicester City and Chelsea

Kanté was brought by Steve Walsh to the club in the Premier League – Leicester City. On August 3, 2015, he joined Leicester, signing a four-year contract.  He won a lot of praise and flattery for consistently impressive shows for Leicester and was widely recognized as a significant factor in the club’s excellent form when they won the Premier League championship.

Kanté was one of the critical members of the team who left the club in the summer of 2016. His leave was a major factor in the sharp decline of Leicester in the 2016/2017 season because the club was unable to find an equally good midfielder. He already won the second championship in Chelsea precisely a year later.

Kolo Toure – Arsenal and Manchester City

A football player from Cote d’Ivoire who played the position of central defender. He started his career in 2000 in the junior team ASEC Mimosas. Two years later he moved to Arsenal, followed by Manchester City and Liverpool. With the club from London and Manchester, he won the title of champion of England.

He has appeared 117 times in his national team since 2000. He took part in three World Cups and seven African Nations Cups; in the latter, he won gold and two silver medals. In September 2017, he ended his professional career and joined the Celtic training staff

Riyad Mahrez – Leicester City and Manchester City

At the beginning of his career, Mahrez was often disregarded by many clubs due to his fragile physique, but eventually, he caught the attention by his ability to control the ball. During one of Le Havre’s match, Steve Walsh found himself in the stands, working as a scout for the second-league English club Leicester City.

On January 25, 2014, Riyad made his debut for the English club. In August 2015, Mahrez signed a new four-year contract with Leicester and then celebrated the English championship with the team. Later, he moved to Manchester City and in 2019 won the next championship.


There are three more players that won Premier League with more than just aa one team – Henning Berg – Blackburn Rovers and Manchester United, Mark Schwarzer – Chelsea and Leicester City (who did not appear on the pitch during the seasons when his teams succeeded) and Robert Huth – Chelsea and Leicester City. It clearly shows how unpredictable Premier League is.