India vs Bangladesh

Virat Kohli-less Team India will be up against Bangladesh in the 3-match T20 series beginning on 03rd November at 19:00 IST. Kohli has been playing non-stop cricket for a long time now and has been rested for the T20 series to manage his workload. Team India is all set to host Bangladesh for a three-T20I match and two-Test match series. The first match of the 3-match T20I arrangement between India and Bangladesh will be facilitated by the new Arun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi. Rohit Sharma has been appointed as a captain in the absence of Virat while some new faces have also been recruited for this tour.

Match Details:

India vs Bangladesh 1st T20I

Venue: Arun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi

Series: Bangladesh tour of India

Date & Time: 03rd November, 07:00 PM IST

Pitch Report:

The Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium has been renamed as the Arun Jaitley Stadium, Traditionally. This pitch has low bounce and spinners get the purchase out of it. But as the Worldcup is in the offing, we might see a batting platter pitch. A score of 165 will be par at this ground.


 Weather Forecast:

It’s gloomy with Air Pollution in Delhi. The air quality has plunged to hazardous levels. Hopefully, we could enjoy the full match on 3rd November.


India: Team News and Playing XI:

After a successful T20 and Test series against South Africa, Team India is all set to host Bangladesh for a three-T20I match series. Selector took their time and decided to rest Virat Kohli for this series to manage his workload.

Sanju Samson and Shivam Dube have earned a national call up for this series. Samson had scored his maiden double century in List A cricket. The wicketkeeper-batsman scored 212 runs from 129 balls, which including 20 fours and 10 sixes. Dube, on the other hand, had an incredible outing with India A in their limited-overs series against South Africa A. Leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal and seamer Shardul Thakur also make a comeback to the side, while Kuldeep Yadav, Navdeep Saini has been left out.

Here is the squad for this series:

Squad: Rohit Sharma(c), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Sanju Samson, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant(wk), Washington Sundar, Krunal Pandya, Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar, Deepak Chahar, Khaleel Ahmed, Shivam Dube, Shardul Thakur


Team News:

  • Stand-in Captain Rohit Sharma will open with Shikhar Dhawan which means KL Rahul will have to wait for an opportunity.
  • Manish Pandey has been in prolific form in the domestic matches. He has the highest average amongst all the players in the Vijay Hazare Trophy. He could fix his spot in this series.

Probable XI: Rohit Sharma(c), Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant(wk), Washington Sundar, Krunal Pandya, Yuzvendra Chahal, Deepak Chahar, Khaleel Ahmed, Shivam Dube/Shardul


  Bangladesh: Team News and Playing XI:

Bangladesh has been jolted with 2 major blows before the start of the series. Earlier Tamim Iqbal withdrew from the series due to personal reasons, and now the 2 year Ban of Shakib Al Hasan. The loss of Shakib Al Hasan in such a dramatic fashion has stunned Bangladesh, not just the cricket team but the entire country. Mahmudullah has been named the captain for the T20I’s. This Bangladesh squad is already looking weak, but there will be great opportunities for players like Taijul, Mahmudullah, Soumya Sarkar and Liton Das to rise for the occasion.

Here is the squad for this series:

Squad: Mahmudullah (c), Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Mohammad Naim, Mushfiqur Rahim, Afif Hossain, Mosaddek Hossain, Aminul Islam, Arafat Sunny, Al-Amin Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Shafiul Islam, Mohammad Mithun, Taijul Islam, Abu Hider

Team News:

  • Left-arm spinner Taijul Islam has replaced Shakib Al Hasan in the T20I squad.
  • Bangladesh has handed a call-up to Mohammad Mithun in place of Tamim Iqbal in the squad.
  • Bangladesh will have Mustafizur Rahman’s services in the T20I’s which is a great boost as he has a great record against the Indian side.

Probable XI: Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Mohammad Mithun, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah (c) Mosaddek Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Al-Amin Hossain, Shafiul Islam, Taijul Islam, Afif Hussain/ Abu Hider

Captain/Vice-Captain Choices for Fantasy Teams:


Rohit Sharma:

This is the by default choice for Captain for all the Fantasy Players because of the form he is in. Coming from 5 hundred in the WorldCup, to 3 centuries (including a double) in the series against Proteas, he has been in form of his life.

Shikhar Dhawan:

This is the home ground of Shikhar and he knows inside out of the pitch, with his opening slot in stake, expect him to go big.

Captain Choices for Grand leagues:

  • Mushfiqur Rahim
  • Yuzi Chahal
  • Soumya Sarkar
  • Rishabh Pant

Apne XI Prediction:

A Bangladesh team without Shakib Al Hasan could struggle to challenge India. It could be an easy win for the Indian team.