Future Tour Programs of Indian Cricket Team 2017-2018

The International Cricket Council, or ICC shoulders the onus of creating and maintaining a year round schedule for all the 12 test playing nations of the world. This schedule is termed as the Future Tour Programme or FTP. As a mandate, every team is required to play a minimum of two bilateral series against each other, at least once in a span of two years. One of these series needs to be played at home, while the other one is scheduled away from home. While two is the minimum number, the respective boards of any two nations might decide upon conducting more than two series.

In case, an opponent team doesn’t wish to visit any nation for the reasons of security, the respective boards of the playing teams can agree upon conducting the series at a neutral venue. In the recent past, Pakistan Cricket Team has agreed to play quite a few bilateral series in the United Arab Emirates, pertaining to the security concerns raised by their counter teams. In this case, it is essential for the chosen venue to have all the essential facilities.

For the year 2017-2018, ICC has designed a calendar for the Indian Cricket Team, the details of which are mentioned below.

Sri Lanka Tour

This tour will commence from June and last through September, 2017. Comprising of all formats of the game with 3 Test Matches, 5 ODIs and 3 T20 Matches, it will put the skills of both the teams to test.

Australia Tour of India

Slated to be held in the month of October, this series will witness two of the best teams take each other head on. With 7 ODIs and 2 T20 matches on the cards, it will be more than just thrilling.

South Africa Tour

Team India will be visiting the Rainbow nation in the month of November for an action packed series which will last till the first month of 2018. The tour will see the two teams battle it out with 3 Test Matches, as many as 7 ODIs and 2 matches in the fastest format of the game, i.e. T20.

Pakistan Tour of India

One of the most coveted series of the year 2018, it will witness a nail-biting collision between the neighbouring arch rivals, in the months spanning January-February.

Sri Lanka Tour of India

India will take on yet another neighbouring team in the months of March and April. The series, which will be as captivating as one could possibly imagine, will comprise of 3 Tests, 5 ODIs as well as 2 T20 matches. Needless to say, it will be a treat to watch players of the likes of Dimuth Karunaratne, Shikhar Dhawam, R. Ashwin and Nuwan Pradeep give their very best on the field.

Indian Premier League

As has been the case for the past years, even in the year 2018, all the leading players of the Indian Cricket Team will be participating in the IPL. With as many as 76 T20 matches lined up, one would have to sit tight while the electrifying knock-outs lead to the final winner.

This will mark the end of the Indian FTP 2017-18. The coming year is scheduled to commence with the highly awaited, India Tour of England!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.